Pie in the Sky Remy Lai

Pie in the Sky

Author: Remy Lai
from
$21.99 $27.99 2199
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Available: 394 items In Stock
Book Title
Pie in the Sky
Author
Remy Lai
ISBN
9781250314109
A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year An NPR Best Book of the Year A Horn Book Best Book of the Year A Kirkus Best Book of the Year Recipient of FIVE starred reviews Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling. --Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao. To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama. In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid. A Junior Library Guild selection Seamlessly mixes together equal parts of humor, loss, identity, discovery, and love to create a delicious concoction of a story. . . illustrated beautifully with Lai's insightful drawings. --Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor-winning author of The Night Diary * The humor is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular "Wimpy Kid" series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant. --School Library Journal, starred review * "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." --Shelf Awareness, starred review This title has common core connections.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Remy LaiPublisher: Henry Holt & CompanyPublished: 05/14/2019ISBN: 9781250314109Pages: 384Weight: 0.94lbsSize: 8.00h x 5.50w x 1.13dReview Citations: Booklist 04/15/2019 pg. 76Publishers Weekly 03/18/2019Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2019 - Book Of Special DistinctionKirkus Reviews 04/01/2019 pg. 125School Library Journal 06/01/2019 pg. 72Horn Book Magazine 07/01/2019 pg. 131Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Outstanding, Noteworthy In StyleAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 503334 / Pie in the SkyReading Level: 4.5 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 7

Recently Viewed