Clean Air Sarah Blake

Clean Air

Author: Sarah Blake
$22.99 $37.99 2299
254 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Clean Air
Author
Sarah Blake
ISBN
9781643751061
"An amazing blend of page-turning mystery, important commentary about environmental destruction, and poignant portraiture of maternal love. Sarah Blake is a poet, and it shows in her economical prose, distilled insights, and wonderfully disturbing imagery." --ANGIE KIM, author of Miracle Creek The climate apocalypse has come and gone, and in the end it wasn't the temperature climbing or the waters rising. It was the trees. The world became overgrown, creating enough pollen to render the air unbreathable. In the decade since the event known as the Turning, humanity has rebuilt, and Izabel has gotten used to the airtight domes that now contain her life. She raises her young daughter, Cami, and attempts to make peace with her mother's death. She tries hard to be satisfied with this safe, prosperous new world, but instead she just feels stuck. And then the peace of her town is shattered. Someone starts slashing through the domes at night, exposing people to the deadly pollen--a serial killer. Almost simultaneously, Cami begins sleep-talking, having whole conversations about the murders that she doesn't remember after she wakes. Izabel becomes fixated on the killer, on both tracking him down and understanding him. What could compel someone to take so many lives after years dedicated to sheer survival, with humanity finally flourishing again? Suspenseful and startling, but also written with a wry, observant humor, Clean Air is the second novel from poet Sarah Blake, author of the award-winning literary debut Naamah. It will appeal to readers of The Need, The Leftovers, and Fever Dream as it probes motherhood, grief, control, and choice. Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Sarah BlakePublisher: Algonquin BooksPublished: 02/08/2022ISBN: 9781643751061Pages: 320Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 09/01/2021 pg. 12Publishers Weekly 10/04/2021Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2021
"An amazing blend of page-turning mystery, important commentary about environmental destruction, and poignant portraiture of maternal love. Sarah Blake is a poet, and it shows in her economical prose, distilled insights, and wonderfully disturbing imagery." --ANGIE KIM, author of Miracle Creek

The climate apocalypse has come and gone, and in the end it wasn't the temperature climbing or the waters rising. It was the trees. The world became overgrown, creating enough pollen to render the air unbreathable.

In the decade since the event known as the Turning, humanity has rebuilt, and Izabel has gotten used to the airtight domes that now contain her life. She raises her young daughter, Cami, and attempts to make peace with her mother's death. She tries hard to be satisfied with this safe, prosperous new world, but instead she just feels stuck.

And then the peace of her town is shattered. Someone starts slashing through the domes at night, exposing people to the deadly pollen--a serial killer. Almost simultaneously, Cami begins sleep-talking, having whole conversations about the murders that she doesn't remember after she wakes. Izabel becomes fixated on the killer, on both tracking him down and understanding him. What could compel someone to take so many lives after years dedicated to sheer survival, with humanity finally flourishing again?

Suspenseful and startling, but also written with a wry, observant humor, Clean Air is the second novel from poet Sarah Blake, author of the award-winning literary debut Naamah. It will appeal to readers of The Need, The Leftovers, and Fever Dream as it probes motherhood, grief, control, and choice.


Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Sarah Blake
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Published: 02/08/2022
ISBN: 9781643751061
Pages: 320

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 09/01/2021 pg. 12
Publishers Weekly 10/04/2021
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2021
"An amazing blend of page-turning mystery, important commentary about environmental destruction, and poignant portraiture of maternal love. Sarah Blake is a poet, and it shows in her economical prose, distilled insights, and wonderfully disturbing imagery." --ANGIE KIM, author of Miracle Creek

The climate apocalypse has come and gone, and in the end it wasn't the temperature climbing or the waters rising. It was the trees. The world became overgrown, creating enough pollen to render the air unbreathable.

In the decade since the event known as the Turning, humanity has rebuilt, and Izabel has gotten used to the airtight domes that now contain her life. She raises her young daughter, Cami, and attempts to make peace with her mother's death. She tries hard to be satisfied with this safe, prosperous new world, but instead she just feels stuck.

And then the peace of her town is shattered. Someone starts slashing through the domes at night, exposing people to the deadly pollen--a serial killer. Almost simultaneously, Cami begins sleep-talking, having whole conversations about the murders that she doesn't remember after she wakes. Izabel becomes fixated on the killer, on both tracking him down and understanding him. What could compel someone to take so many lives after years dedicated to sheer survival, with humanity finally flourishing again?

Suspenseful and startling, but also written with a wry, observant humor, Clean Air is the second novel from poet Sarah Blake, author of the award-winning literary debut Naamah. It will appeal to readers of The Need, The Leftovers, and Fever Dream as it probes motherhood, grief, control, and choice.


Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Sarah Blake
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Published: 02/08/2022
ISBN: 9781643751061
Pages: 320

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 09/01/2021 pg. 12
Publishers Weekly 10/04/2021
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2021