Something New Under the Sun Alexandra Kleeman

Something New Under the Sun

Author: Alexandra Kleeman
$23.99 $39.99 2399
204 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Something New Under the Sun
Author
Alexandra Kleeman
ISBN
9781984826305
A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening--a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa MoshfeghONE OF SUMMER'S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street Journal - Time - Vulture - Parade - LitHub "A darkly satirical reflection of ecological reality."--Time"Magnificent and stunning."--Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation and Hummingbird Salamander"Wildly entertaining and beautifully written."--LitHubEast Coast novelist Patrick Hamlin has come to Hollywood with simple goals in mind: overseeing the production of a film adaptation of one of his books, preventing starlet Cassidy Carter's disruptive behavior from derailing said production, and turning this last-ditch effort at career resuscitation into the sort of success that will dazzle his wife and daughter back home. But California is not as he imagined: Drought, wildfire, and corporate corruption are omnipresent, and the company behind a mysterious new brand of synthetic water seems to be at the root of it all. Patrick partners with Cassidy--after having been her reluctant chauffeur for weeks--and the two of them investigate the sun-scorched city's darker crevices, where they discover that catastrophe resembles order until the last possible second. In this often-witty and all-too-timely story, Alexandra Kleeman grapples with the corruption of our environment in the age of alternative facts. Something New Under the Sun is a meticulous and deeply felt accounting of our very human anxieties, liabilities, dependencies, and, ultimately, responsibility to truth.Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Alexandra KleemanPublisher: Hogarth PressPublished: 08/03/2021ISBN: 9781984826305Pages: 368Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2021 pg. 62Publishers Weekly 06/07/2021Kirkus Reviews 06/15/2021Library Journal 07/01/2021 pg. 70
A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening--a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh

ONE OF SUMMER'S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street Journal - Time - Vulture - Parade - LitHub

"A darkly satirical reflection of ecological reality."--Time
"Magnificent and stunning."--Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation and Hummingbird Salamander
"Wildly entertaining and beautifully written."--LitHub


East Coast novelist Patrick Hamlin has come to Hollywood with simple goals in mind: overseeing the production of a film adaptation of one of his books, preventing starlet Cassidy Carter's disruptive behavior from derailing said production, and turning this last-ditch effort at career resuscitation into the sort of success that will dazzle his wife and daughter back home. But California is not as he imagined: Drought, wildfire, and corporate corruption are omnipresent, and the company behind a mysterious new brand of synthetic water seems to be at the root of it all. Patrick partners with Cassidy--after having been her reluctant chauffeur for weeks--and the two of them investigate the sun-scorched city's darker crevices, where they discover that catastrophe resembles order until the last possible second.

In this often-witty and all-too-timely story, Alexandra Kleeman grapples with the corruption of our environment in the age of alternative facts. Something New Under the Sun is a meticulous and deeply felt accounting of our very human anxieties, liabilities, dependencies, and, ultimately, responsibility to truth.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Hogarth Press
Published: 08/03/2021
ISBN: 9781984826305
Pages: 368

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2021 pg. 62
Publishers Weekly 06/07/2021
Kirkus Reviews 06/15/2021
Library Journal 07/01/2021 pg. 70
A novelist discovers the dark side of Hollywood and reckons with ambition, corruption, and connectedness in the age of environmental collapse and ecological awakening--a darkly unsettling near-future novel for readers of Don DeLillo and Ottessa Moshfegh

ONE OF SUMMER'S BEST BOOKS: The Wall Street Journal - Time - Vulture - Parade - LitHub

"A darkly satirical reflection of ecological reality."--Time
"Magnificent and stunning."--Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation and Hummingbird Salamander
"Wildly entertaining and beautifully written."--LitHub


East Coast novelist Patrick Hamlin has come to Hollywood with simple goals in mind: overseeing the production of a film adaptation of one of his books, preventing starlet Cassidy Carter's disruptive behavior from derailing said production, and turning this last-ditch effort at career resuscitation into the sort of success that will dazzle his wife and daughter back home. But California is not as he imagined: Drought, wildfire, and corporate corruption are omnipresent, and the company behind a mysterious new brand of synthetic water seems to be at the root of it all. Patrick partners with Cassidy--after having been her reluctant chauffeur for weeks--and the two of them investigate the sun-scorched city's darker crevices, where they discover that catastrophe resembles order until the last possible second.

In this often-witty and all-too-timely story, Alexandra Kleeman grapples with the corruption of our environment in the age of alternative facts. Something New Under the Sun is a meticulous and deeply felt accounting of our very human anxieties, liabilities, dependencies, and, ultimately, responsibility to truth.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Alexandra Kleeman
Publisher: Hogarth Press
Published: 08/03/2021
ISBN: 9781984826305
Pages: 368

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2021 pg. 62
Publishers Weekly 06/07/2021
Kirkus Reviews 06/15/2021
Library Journal 07/01/2021 pg. 70