Lark Ascending Silas House

Lark Ascending

Author: Silas House
$27.99 $40.99 2799
709 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Lark Ascending
Author
Silas House
ISBN
9781643751597
A riveting story of survival and hope, set in the not-too-distant future, about a young man forced to flee the United States and seek refuge across the Atlantic. As fires devastate most of the United States, Lark and his family secure a place on a refugee boat headed to Ireland, the last country not yet overrun by extremists and rumored to be accepting American refugees. But Lark is the only one to survive the trip, and once ashore, he doesn't find the safe haven he'd hoped for. As he runs for his life, Lark finds an abandoned dog who becomes his closest companion, and then a woman in search of her lost son. Together they form a makeshift family and attempt to reach Glendalough, a place they believe will offer protection. But can any community provide the safety that they seek? For readers of novels such as Station Eleven, The Dog Stars, and Migrations, Lark Ascending is a moving and unforgettable story of friendship, family, and healing.Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Silas HousePublisher: Algonquin BooksPublished: 09/27/2022ISBN: 9781643751597Pages: 288Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 04/01/2022 pg. 4Publishers Weekly 07/18/2022Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2022Booklist 07/01/2022 pg. 15Library Journal 08/01/2022 pg. 76
A riveting story of survival and hope, set in the not-too-distant future, about a young man forced to flee the United States and seek refuge across the Atlantic.

As fires devastate most of the United States, Lark and his family secure a place on a refugee boat headed to Ireland, the last country not yet overrun by extremists and rumored to be accepting American refugees. But Lark is the only one to survive the trip, and once ashore, he doesn't find the safe haven he'd hoped for. As he runs for his life, Lark finds an abandoned dog who becomes his closest companion, and then a woman in search of her lost son. Together they form a makeshift family and attempt to reach Glendalough, a place they believe will offer protection. But can any community provide the safety that they seek?

For readers of novels such as Station Eleven, The Dog Stars, and Migrations, Lark Ascending is a moving and unforgettable story of friendship, family, and healing.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Silas House
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Published: 09/27/2022
ISBN: 9781643751597
Pages: 288

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 04/01/2022 pg. 4
Publishers Weekly 07/18/2022
Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2022
Booklist 07/01/2022 pg. 15
Library Journal 08/01/2022 pg. 76
A riveting story of survival and hope, set in the not-too-distant future, about a young man forced to flee the United States and seek refuge across the Atlantic.

As fires devastate most of the United States, Lark and his family secure a place on a refugee boat headed to Ireland, the last country not yet overrun by extremists and rumored to be accepting American refugees. But Lark is the only one to survive the trip, and once ashore, he doesn't find the safe haven he'd hoped for. As he runs for his life, Lark finds an abandoned dog who becomes his closest companion, and then a woman in search of her lost son. Together they form a makeshift family and attempt to reach Glendalough, a place they believe will offer protection. But can any community provide the safety that they seek?

For readers of novels such as Station Eleven, The Dog Stars, and Migrations, Lark Ascending is a moving and unforgettable story of friendship, family, and healing.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Silas House
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Published: 09/27/2022
ISBN: 9781643751597
Pages: 288

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 04/01/2022 pg. 4
Publishers Weekly 07/18/2022
Kirkus Reviews 07/15/2022
Booklist 07/01/2022 pg. 15
Library Journal 08/01/2022 pg. 76