Angel on the Square #1 Gloria Whelan

Angel on the Square #1

Author: Gloria Whelan
$9.99 999
Out Stock
Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
Book Title
Angel on the Square #1
Author
Gloria Whelan
ISBN
9780064408790
From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes "an absorbing saga"* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein. In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.The daughter of a lady in waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses, and the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution.Now, as Katya's once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is happening to her beloved country and, for the first time in her life, take charge of her own destiny. With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into compelling historical fiction.*KirkusBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Gloria WhelanPublisher: HarperCollinsPublished: 01/07/2003ISBN: 9780064408790Pages: 293Weight: 0.45lbsSize: 7.74h x 5.14w x 0.69dReview Citations: PW Notes and Reprints 12/23/2002 pg. 73Kliatt 03/01/2003 pg. 28Publishers Weekly 12/23/2002Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 53467 / Angel on the SquareReading Level: 5.6 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 8

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes "an absorbing saga"* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.

Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.

The daughter of a lady in waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses, and the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution.

Now, as Katya's once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is happening to her beloved country and, for the first time in her life, take charge of her own destiny.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into compelling historical fiction.

*Kirkus



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Gloria Whelan
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 01/07/2003
ISBN: 9780064408790
Pages: 293
Weight: 0.45lbs
Size: 7.74h x 5.14w x 0.69d

Review Citations: PW Notes and Reprints 12/23/2002 pg. 73
Kliatt 03/01/2003 pg. 28
Publishers Weekly 12/23/2002

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 53467 / Angel on the Square
Reading Level: 5.6 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 8

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes "an absorbing saga"* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.

Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.

The daughter of a lady in waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses, and the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution.

Now, as Katya's once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is happening to her beloved country and, for the first time in her life, take charge of her own destiny.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into compelling historical fiction.

*Kirkus



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Gloria Whelan
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 01/07/2003
ISBN: 9780064408790
Pages: 293
Weight: 0.45lbs
Size: 7.74h x 5.14w x 0.69d

Review Citations: PW Notes and Reprints 12/23/2002 pg. 73
Kliatt 03/01/2003 pg. 28
Publishers Weekly 12/23/2002

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 53467 / Angel on the Square
Reading Level: 5.6 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 8