Black Boy White School Brian F. Walker

Black Boy White School

Author: Brian F. Walker
$23.99 2399
Out Stock
Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
Book Title
Black Boy White School
Author
Brian F. Walker
ISBN
9780061914836
In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in--or not--Anthony "Ant" Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him "Tony," assumes he's from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he's in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.In debut author Brian F. Walker's honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Brian F. WalkerPublisher: HarperteenPublished: 01/03/2012ISBN: 9780061914836Pages: 246Weight: 0.75lbsSize: 8.41h x 5.84w x 0.93dAward: Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award - NomineeReview Citations: Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2011Publishers Weekly 11/28/2011Voice of Youth Advocates 12/01/2011 pg. 503 - Recommended - Better Than MostBooklist 01/01/2012 pg. 96Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 02/01/2012School Library Journal 04/01/2012 pg. 180Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2012 pg. 117 - Recommended, SatisfactoryAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 153590 / Black Boy White SchoolReading Level: 4.4 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 7

In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in--or not--Anthony "Ant" Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.

Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him "Tony," assumes he's from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.

As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he's in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.

In debut author Brian F. Walker's honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?



Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Brian F. Walker
Publisher: Harperteen
Published: 01/03/2012
ISBN: 9780061914836
Pages: 246
Weight: 0.75lbs
Size: 8.41h x 5.84w x 0.93d
Award: Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award - Nominee

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2011
Publishers Weekly 11/28/2011
Voice of Youth Advocates 12/01/2011 pg. 503 - Recommended - Better Than Most
Booklist 01/01/2012 pg. 96
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 02/01/2012
School Library Journal 04/01/2012 pg. 180
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2012 pg. 117 - Recommended, Satisfactory

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 153590 / Black Boy White School
Reading Level: 4.4 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 7

In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in--or not--Anthony "Ant" Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.

Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him "Tony," assumes he's from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.

As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he's in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.

In debut author Brian F. Walker's honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?



Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Brian F. Walker
Publisher: Harperteen
Published: 01/03/2012
ISBN: 9780061914836
Pages: 246
Weight: 0.75lbs
Size: 8.41h x 5.84w x 0.93d
Award: Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award - Nominee

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2011
Publishers Weekly 11/28/2011
Voice of Youth Advocates 12/01/2011 pg. 503 - Recommended - Better Than Most
Booklist 01/01/2012 pg. 96
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 02/01/2012
School Library Journal 04/01/2012 pg. 180
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2012 pg. 117 - Recommended, Satisfactory

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 153590 / Black Boy White School
Reading Level: 4.4 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 7