Butterfly Yellow Thanhhà Lai

Butterfly Yellow

Author: Thanhhà Lai
$23.99 2399
Out Stock
Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
Book Title
Butterfly Yellow
Author
Thanhhà Lai
ISBN
9780062229212
Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn't know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her.Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn't remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Thanhhà LaiPublisher: HarperCollinsPublished: 09/03/2019ISBN: 9780062229212Pages: 304Weight: 0.85lbsSize: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.20dReview Citations: School Library Journal 07/01/2019 pg. 52Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2019 pg. 162Booklist 07/01/2019 pg. 62Publishers Weekly 07/22/2019Kirkus Reviews Fall Preview 08/15/2019 pg. 71Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2019 - Book Of Special DistinctionShelf Awareness 09/06/2019Horn Book Magazine 09/01/2019 pg. 92Voice of Youth Advocates 10/01/2019 - Recommended - Better Than MostHornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above AverageAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 507010 / Butterfly YellowReading Level: 5.4 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8

Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.

Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn't know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her.

Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn't remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Thanhhà Lai
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 09/03/2019
ISBN: 9780062229212
Pages: 304
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.20d

Review Citations: School Library Journal 07/01/2019 pg. 52
Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2019 pg. 162
Booklist 07/01/2019 pg. 62
Publishers Weekly 07/22/2019
Kirkus Reviews Fall Preview 08/15/2019 pg. 71
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2019 - Book Of Special Distinction
Shelf Awareness 09/06/2019
Horn Book Magazine 09/01/2019 pg. 92
Voice of Youth Advocates 10/01/2019 - Recommended - Better Than Most
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above Average

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 507010 / Butterfly Yellow
Reading Level: 5.4 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8

Winner of the Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. 4 starred reviews

In the final days of the Việt Nam War, Hằng takes her little brother, Linh, to the airport, determined to find a way to safety in America. In a split second, Linh is ripped from her arms--and Hằng is left behind in the war-torn country.

Six years later, Hằng has made the brutal journey from Việt Nam and is now in Texas as a refugee. She doesn't know how she will find the little brother who was taken from her until she meets LeeRoy, a city boy with big rodeo dreams, who decides to help her.

Hằng is overjoyed when she reunites with Linh. But when she realizes he doesn't remember her, their family, or Việt Nam, her heart is crushed. Though the distance between them feels greater than ever, Hằng has come so far that she will do anything to bridge the gap.

--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Thanhhà Lai
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 09/03/2019
ISBN: 9780062229212
Pages: 304
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.50w x 1.20d

Review Citations: School Library Journal 07/01/2019 pg. 52
Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2019 pg. 162
Booklist 07/01/2019 pg. 62
Publishers Weekly 07/22/2019
Kirkus Reviews Fall Preview 08/15/2019 pg. 71
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 09/01/2019 - Book Of Special Distinction
Shelf Awareness 09/06/2019
Horn Book Magazine 09/01/2019 pg. 92
Voice of Youth Advocates 10/01/2019 - Recommended - Better Than Most
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2019 - Superior,Well Above Average

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 507010 / Butterfly Yellow
Reading Level: 5.4 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8