Clayton Byrd Goes Underground Rita Williams-Garcia

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground

Author: Rita Williams-Garcia
$22.99 2299
15 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
Author
Rita Williams-Garcia
ISBN
9780062215918
From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him. National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017This slim novel strikes a strong chord.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review)Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase. --The Horn Book (starred review)Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)--School Library Journal (starred review)Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Rita Williams-GarciaPublisher: Quill Tree BooksPublished: 05/09/2017ISBN: 9780062215918Pages: 176Weight: 0.60lbsSize: 8.30h x 5.70w x 0.80dAward: National Book Awards - FinalistReview Citations: Booklist 03/15/2017 pg. 54Publishers Weekly 04/03/2017Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2017 pg. 155Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2017BookPage 05/01/2017Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2017 pg. 108School Library Journal 05/01/2017 pg. 93Shelf Awareness 05/16/2017Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 189070 / Clayton Byrd Goes UndergroundReading Level: 4.4 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 4

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

This slim novel strikes a strong chord.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review)

Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase. --The Horn Book (starred review)

Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)

--School Library Journal (starred review)

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Rita Williams-Garcia
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Published: 05/09/2017
ISBN: 9780062215918
Pages: 176
Weight: 0.60lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.70w x 0.80d
Award: National Book Awards - Finalist

Review Citations: Booklist 03/15/2017 pg. 54
Publishers Weekly 04/03/2017
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2017 pg. 155
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2017
BookPage 05/01/2017
Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2017 pg. 108
School Library Journal 05/01/2017 pg. 93
Shelf Awareness 05/16/2017

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 189070 / Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
Reading Level: 4.4 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 4

From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander.

Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen--he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live.

Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

National Book Award Finalist * Kirkus Best Books of 2017 * Horn Book Best Books of 2017 * Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2017 * School Library Journal Best Books of 2017 * NAACP Image Awards Youth/Teens Winner * Chicago Public Library Best Books * Boston Globe Best Books of 2017

This slim novel strikes a strong chord.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." --School Library Journal (starred review)

Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase. --The Horn Book (starred review)

Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." --Booklist (starred review)

--School Library Journal (starred review)

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Rita Williams-Garcia
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Published: 05/09/2017
ISBN: 9780062215918
Pages: 176
Weight: 0.60lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.70w x 0.80d
Award: National Book Awards - Finalist

Review Citations: Booklist 03/15/2017 pg. 54
Publishers Weekly 04/03/2017
Kirkus Reviews 03/15/2017 pg. 155
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 05/01/2017
BookPage 05/01/2017
Horn Book Magazine 05/01/2017 pg. 108
School Library Journal 05/01/2017 pg. 93
Shelf Awareness 05/16/2017

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 189070 / Clayton Byrd Goes Underground
Reading Level: 4.4 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 4