Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II Liza Mundy

Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II

Author: Liza Mundy
$23.99 $30.71 2399
3 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II
Author
Liza Mundy
ISBN
9780316353731
In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II. More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking. Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now. Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Liza MundyPublisher: Little, Brown Books for Young ReadersPublished: 10/02/2018ISBN: 9780316353731Pages: 336Weight: 0.85lbsSize: 7.70h x 5.60w x 1.30dReview Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2018Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Below Average, With Minor FlawAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 197966 / Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War IIReading Level: 7.7 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 10
In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.

More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking.

Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now.

Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Liza Mundy
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 10/02/2018
ISBN: 9780316353731
Pages: 336
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 7.70h x 5.60w x 1.30d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2018
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Below Average, With Minor Flaw

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 197966 / Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II
Reading Level: 7.7 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 10
In the tradition of Hidden Figures and The Girls of Atomic City, Code Girls is the amazing true story of the young American women who cracked German and Japanese military codes during World War II.

More than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II, recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to the nation's capital to learn the top secret art of code breaking.

Through their work, the "code girls" helped save countless lives and were vital in ending the war. But due to the top secret nature of their accomplishments, these women have never been able to talk about their story--until now.

Through dazzling research and countless interviews with the surviving code girls, Liza Mundy brings their story to life with zeal, grace, and passion. Abridged and adapted for a middle grade audience, Code Girls brings this important story to young readers for the first time, showcasing this vital story of American courage, service, and scientific accomplishment.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Liza Mundy
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 10/02/2018
ISBN: 9780316353731
Pages: 336
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 7.70h x 5.60w x 1.30d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2018
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Below Average, With Minor Flaw

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 197966 / Code Girls: The True Story of the American Women Who Secretly Broke Codes in World War II
Reading Level: 7.7 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 10