Flygirl Sherri L. Smith

Flygirl

Author: Sherri L. Smith
$15.99 $20.47 1599
6 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Flygirl
Author
Sherri L. Smith
ISBN
9780142417256
For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys. All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she's in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots. Ida has a chance to fulfill her dream if she's willing to use her light skin to pass as a white girl. She wants to fly more than anything, but Ida soon learns that denying one's self and family is a heavy burden, and ultimately it's not what you do but who you are that's most important. Read Sherri L. Smith's posts on the Penguin BlogBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Sherri L. SmithPublisher: Penguin BooksPublished: 09/16/2010ISBN: 9780142417256Pages: 304Weight: 0.62lbsSize: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.00dAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 128024 / FlygirlReading Level: 4.3 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 11
For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys.

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she's in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots. Ida has a chance to fulfill her dream if she's willing to use her light skin to pass as a white girl. She wants to fly more than anything, but Ida soon learns that denying one's self and family is a heavy burden, and ultimately it's not what you do but who you are that's most important.

Read Sherri L. Smith's posts on the Penguin Blog

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Sherri L. Smith
Publisher: Penguin Books
Published: 09/16/2010
ISBN: 9780142417256
Pages: 304
Weight: 0.62lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.00d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 128024 / Flygirl
Reading Level: 4.3 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 11
For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys.

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she's in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots. Ida has a chance to fulfill her dream if she's willing to use her light skin to pass as a white girl. She wants to fly more than anything, but Ida soon learns that denying one's self and family is a heavy burden, and ultimately it's not what you do but who you are that's most important.

Read Sherri L. Smith's posts on the Penguin Blog

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Sherri L. Smith
Publisher: Penguin Books
Published: 09/16/2010
ISBN: 9780142417256
Pages: 304
Weight: 0.62lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.00d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 128024 / Flygirl
Reading Level: 4.3 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 11