Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany Andrew Maraniss

Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany

Author: Andrew Maraniss
$24.99 $31.99 2499
64 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in Hitler's Germany
Author
Andrew Maraniss
ISBN
9780525514633
*"Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don't appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner." --School Library Connection, starred review *"A must for all library collections." --Booklist, starred review Winner of the 2020 AJL Sidney Taylor Honor From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler's Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken. On a scorching hot day in July 1936, thousands of people cheered as the U.S. Olympic teams boarded the S.S. Manhattan, bound for Berlin. Among the athletes were the 14 players representing the first-ever U.S. Olympic basketball team. As thousands of supporters waved American flags on the docks, it was easy to miss the one courageous man holding a BOYCOTT NAZI GERMANY sign. But it was too late for a boycott now; the ship had already left the harbor. 1936 was a turbulent time in world history. Adolf Hitler had gained power in Germany three years earlier. Jewish people and political opponents of the Nazis were the targets of vicious mistreatment, yet were unaware of the horrors that awaited them in the coming years. But the Olympians on board the S.S. Manhattan and other international visitors wouldn't see any signs of trouble in Berlin. Streets were swept, storefronts were painted, and every German citizen greeted them with a smile. Like a movie set, it was all just a facade, meant to distract from the terrible things happening behind the scenes. This is the incredible true story of basketball, from its invention by James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1891, to the sport's Olympic debut in Berlin and the eclectic mix of people, events and propaganda on both sides of the Atlantic that made it all possible. Includes photos throughout, a Who's-Who of the 1936 Olympics, bibliography, and index. Praise for Games of Deception A 2020 ALA Notable Children's Book A 2020 CBC Notable Social Studies Book "Maraniss does a great job of blending basketball action with the horror of Hitler's Berlin to bring this fascinating, frightening, you-can't-make-this-stuff-up moment in history to life." -Steve Sheinkin, New York Times bestselling author of Bomb and Undefeated "I was blown away by Games of Deception....It's a fascinating, fast-paced, well-reasoned, and well-written account of the hidden-in-plain-sight horrors and atrocities that underpinned sports, politics, and propaganda in the United States and Germany. This is an important read." -Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor winning author of Hitler Youth "A richly reported and stylishly told reminder how, when you scratch at a sports story, the real world often lurks just beneath." --Alexander Wolff, New York Times bestselling author of The Audacity of Hoop: Basketball and the Age of Obama"An insightful, gripping account of basketball and bias." --Kirkus Reviews"An exciting and overlooked slice of history." --School Library JournalBinding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Andrew MaranissPublisher: Philomel BooksPublished: 11/05/2019ISBN: 9780525514633Pages: 240Weight: 1.00lbsSize: 9.00h x 7.10w x 1.00dAward: Sydney Taylor Book Award - Honor BookReview Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2019Booklist 09/01/2019 pg. 94Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 11/01/2019School Library Journal 12/01/2019 pg. 101Shelf Awareness 12/13/2019Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 507457 / Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics inReading Level: 8.8 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8
*"Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don't appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner." --School Library Connection, starred review

*"A must for all library collections." --Booklist, starred review

Winner of the 2020 AJL Sidney Taylor Honor

From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler's Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken.

On a scorching hot day in July 1936, thousands of people cheered as the U.S. Olympic teams boarded the S.S. Manhattan, bound for Berlin. Among the athletes were the 14 players representing the first-ever U.S. Olympic basketball team. As thousands of supporters waved American flags on the docks, it was easy to miss the one courageous man holding a BOYCOTT NAZI GERMANY sign. But it was too late for a boycott now; the ship had already left the harbor.

1936 was a turbulent time in world history. Adolf Hitler had gained power in Germany three years earlier. Jewish people and political opponents of the Nazis were the targets of vicious mistreatment, yet were unaware of the horrors that awaited them in the coming years. But the Olympians on board the S.S. Manhattan and other international visitors wouldn't see any signs of trouble in Berlin. Streets were swept, storefronts were painted, and every German citizen greeted them with a smile. Like a movie set, it was all just a facade, meant to distract from the terrible things happening behind the scenes.

This is the incredible true story of basketball, from its invention by James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1891, to the sport's Olympic debut in Berlin and the eclectic mix of people, events and propaganda on both sides of the Atlantic that made it all possible. Includes photos throughout, a Who's-Who of the 1936 Olympics, bibliography, and index.

Praise for Games of Deception

A 2020 ALA Notable Children's Book
A 2020 CBC Notable Social Studies Book

"Maraniss does a great job of blending basketball action with the horror of Hitler's Berlin to bring this fascinating, frightening, you-can't-make-this-stuff-up moment in history to life." -Steve Sheinkin, New York Times bestselling author of Bomb and Undefeated

"I was blown away by Games of Deception....It's a fascinating, fast-paced, well-reasoned, and well-written account of the hidden-in-plain-sight horrors and atrocities that underpinned sports, politics, and propaganda in the United States and Germany. This is an important read." -Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor winning author of Hitler Youth

"A richly reported and stylishly told reminder how, when you scratch at a sports story, the real world often lurks just beneath." --Alexander Wolff, New York Times bestselling author of The Audacity of Hoop: Basketball and the Age of Obama

"An insightful, gripping account of basketball and bias." --Kirkus Reviews

"An exciting and overlooked slice of history." --School Library Journal


Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Andrew Maraniss
Publisher: Philomel Books
Published: 11/05/2019
ISBN: 9780525514633
Pages: 240
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 9.00h x 7.10w x 1.00d
Award: Sydney Taylor Book Award - Honor Book

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2019
Booklist 09/01/2019 pg. 94
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 11/01/2019
School Library Journal 12/01/2019 pg. 101
Shelf Awareness 12/13/2019

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 507457 / Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in
Reading Level: 8.8 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8
*"Rivaling the nonfiction works of Steve Sheinkin and Daniel James Brown's The Boys in the Boat....Even readers who don't appreciate sports will find this story a page-turner." --School Library Connection, starred review

*"A must for all library collections." --Booklist, starred review

Winner of the 2020 AJL Sidney Taylor Honor

From the New York Times bestselling author of Strong Inside comes the remarkable true story of the birth of Olympic basketball at the 1936 Summer Games in Hitler's Germany. Perfect for fans of The Boys in the Boat and Unbroken.

On a scorching hot day in July 1936, thousands of people cheered as the U.S. Olympic teams boarded the S.S. Manhattan, bound for Berlin. Among the athletes were the 14 players representing the first-ever U.S. Olympic basketball team. As thousands of supporters waved American flags on the docks, it was easy to miss the one courageous man holding a BOYCOTT NAZI GERMANY sign. But it was too late for a boycott now; the ship had already left the harbor.

1936 was a turbulent time in world history. Adolf Hitler had gained power in Germany three years earlier. Jewish people and political opponents of the Nazis were the targets of vicious mistreatment, yet were unaware of the horrors that awaited them in the coming years. But the Olympians on board the S.S. Manhattan and other international visitors wouldn't see any signs of trouble in Berlin. Streets were swept, storefronts were painted, and every German citizen greeted them with a smile. Like a movie set, it was all just a facade, meant to distract from the terrible things happening behind the scenes.

This is the incredible true story of basketball, from its invention by James Naismith in Springfield, Massachusetts, in 1891, to the sport's Olympic debut in Berlin and the eclectic mix of people, events and propaganda on both sides of the Atlantic that made it all possible. Includes photos throughout, a Who's-Who of the 1936 Olympics, bibliography, and index.

Praise for Games of Deception

A 2020 ALA Notable Children's Book
A 2020 CBC Notable Social Studies Book

"Maraniss does a great job of blending basketball action with the horror of Hitler's Berlin to bring this fascinating, frightening, you-can't-make-this-stuff-up moment in history to life." -Steve Sheinkin, New York Times bestselling author of Bomb and Undefeated

"I was blown away by Games of Deception....It's a fascinating, fast-paced, well-reasoned, and well-written account of the hidden-in-plain-sight horrors and atrocities that underpinned sports, politics, and propaganda in the United States and Germany. This is an important read." -Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor winning author of Hitler Youth

"A richly reported and stylishly told reminder how, when you scratch at a sports story, the real world often lurks just beneath." --Alexander Wolff, New York Times bestselling author of The Audacity of Hoop: Basketball and the Age of Obama

"An insightful, gripping account of basketball and bias." --Kirkus Reviews

"An exciting and overlooked slice of history." --School Library Journal


Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Andrew Maraniss
Publisher: Philomel Books
Published: 11/05/2019
ISBN: 9780525514633
Pages: 240
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 9.00h x 7.10w x 1.00d
Award: Sydney Taylor Book Award - Honor Book

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2019
Booklist 09/01/2019 pg. 94
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 11/01/2019
School Library Journal 12/01/2019 pg. 101
Shelf Awareness 12/13/2019

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 507457 / Games of Deception: The True Story of the First U.S. Olympic Basketball Team at the 1936 Olympics in
Reading Level: 8.8 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8