Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters Matt Ridley

Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters

Author: Matt Ridley
$22.99 2299
65 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters
Author
Matt Ridley
ISBN
9780060894085
Following in the tradition of James Gleick' Chaos, Matt Ridly vividly explores the most profound scientific discovery of the century--the mapping of the human genome. But what does that mean? In witty, clear language, Ridley answers this question for your students. Genome helps them understand what the human genetic code is, how it works, and how discoveries in the field of genetics are revolutionizing medicine, pharmaceuticals, business, politics, and our own sense of what it means to be human.By picking one newly discovered gene from each of the twenty-three human chromosomes and telling its story, Ridley recounts the history of our species and its ancestors from the dawn of life to the brink of future medicine. Your students will discover: - genes they share with bacteria- genes that distinguish them from chimpanzees- genes that may influence their intelligence- genes that enable them to use language- genes that allow them to remember- genes that bring about diseases- genes that battle with one another- and more fascinating insights into their genetic makeupCutting through complicated scientific jargon, Ridley engages your students' minds and imaginations, exploring and making clear to them the applications of genetics: the search for understanding of where we come from and where we are headed.Examining a scientific achievement on a parwith the splitting of the atom--and with asmany far-reaching implications--Genome will help students understand who they are as humans--and where they may be going.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Matt RidleyPublisher: Harper PerennialPublished: 05/30/2006ISBN: 9780060894085Pages: 344Weight: 0.61lbsSize: 8.02h x 5.32w x 0.88dAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 78259 / Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 ChaptersReading Level: 11.2 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 23

Following in the tradition of James Gleick' Chaos, Matt Ridly vividly explores the most profound scientific discovery of the century--the mapping of the human genome. But what does that mean? In witty, clear language, Ridley answers this question for your students. Genome helps them understand what the human genetic code is, how it works, and how discoveries in the field of genetics are revolutionizing medicine, pharmaceuticals, business, politics, and our own sense of what it means to be human.

By picking one newly discovered gene from each of the twenty-three human chromosomes and telling its story, Ridley recounts the history of our species and its ancestors from the dawn of life to the brink of future medicine. Your students will discover:

- genes they share with bacteria

- genes that distinguish them from chimpanzees

- genes that may influence their intelligence

- genes that enable them to use language

- genes that allow them to remember

- genes that bring about diseases

- genes that battle with one another

- and more fascinating insights into their genetic makeup

Cutting through complicated scientific jargon, Ridley engages your students' minds and imaginations, exploring and making clear to them the applications of genetics: the search for understanding of where we come from and where we are headed.

Examining a scientific achievement on a parwith the splitting of the atom--and with asmany far-reaching implications--Genome will help students understand who they are as humans--and where they may be going.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Matt Ridley
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 05/30/2006
ISBN: 9780060894085
Pages: 344
Weight: 0.61lbs
Size: 8.02h x 5.32w x 0.88d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 78259 / Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters
Reading Level: 11.2 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 23

Following in the tradition of James Gleick' Chaos, Matt Ridly vividly explores the most profound scientific discovery of the century--the mapping of the human genome. But what does that mean? In witty, clear language, Ridley answers this question for your students. Genome helps them understand what the human genetic code is, how it works, and how discoveries in the field of genetics are revolutionizing medicine, pharmaceuticals, business, politics, and our own sense of what it means to be human.

By picking one newly discovered gene from each of the twenty-three human chromosomes and telling its story, Ridley recounts the history of our species and its ancestors from the dawn of life to the brink of future medicine. Your students will discover:

- genes they share with bacteria

- genes that distinguish them from chimpanzees

- genes that may influence their intelligence

- genes that enable them to use language

- genes that allow them to remember

- genes that bring about diseases

- genes that battle with one another

- and more fascinating insights into their genetic makeup

Cutting through complicated scientific jargon, Ridley engages your students' minds and imaginations, exploring and making clear to them the applications of genetics: the search for understanding of where we come from and where we are headed.

Examining a scientific achievement on a parwith the splitting of the atom--and with asmany far-reaching implications--Genome will help students understand who they are as humans--and where they may be going.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Matt Ridley
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 05/30/2006
ISBN: 9780060894085
Pages: 344
Weight: 0.61lbs
Size: 8.02h x 5.32w x 0.88d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 78259 / Genome: The Autobiography of a Species in 23 Chapters
Reading Level: 11.2 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 23