Girl in the Blue Coat Monica Hesse

Girl in the Blue Coat

Author: Monica Hesse
$16.99 $21.75 1699
909 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Girl in the Blue Coat
Author
Monica Hesse
ISBN
9780316260633
The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion. On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action. Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Monica HessePublisher: Little, Brown Books for Young ReadersPublished: 04/04/2017ISBN: 9780316260633Pages: 320Weight: 0.66lbsSize: 8.20h x 5.40w x 0.90dAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 180669 / Girl in the Blue CoatReading Level: 4.9 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 11
The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Monica Hesse
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 04/04/2017
ISBN: 9780316260633
Pages: 320
Weight: 0.66lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 0.90d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 180669 / Girl in the Blue Coat
Reading Level: 4.9 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 11
The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Monica Hesse
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Published: 04/04/2017
ISBN: 9780316260633
Pages: 320
Weight: 0.66lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 0.90d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 180669 / Girl in the Blue Coat
Reading Level: 4.9 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 11