Good Taste: A Novel in Search of Great Food Caroline Scott

Good Taste: A Novel in Search of Great Food

Author: Caroline Scott
$19.99 1999
160 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Good Taste: A Novel in Search of Great Food
Author
Caroline Scott
ISBN
9780063325814
With delectable prose, a sharp heroine ahead of her time, and an adventure across the English countryside in search of great food, Good Taste is the perfect historical novel for fans of Dear Mrs. Bird and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.You can tell a lot about a person from what they like to eat...England in 1932 is in the grip of the Great Depression. Stella Douglas, author of a much-loved but not very successful biography, is a bit depressed herself. When she's summoned to see her editor in London, she expects her writing career is over before it's even started.But much to her surprise, she is being commissioned to write a history of English food. It's to be quintessentially English and intended to lift the sprits of the nation. There's just one problem: a lot of English food is actually quite terrible (and anything good is usually imported from elsewhere). So Stella travels across England in hopes of discovering a hidden culinary gem. What she discovers is oatcakes and gravy and lots and lots of potatoes. But when her car breaks down midjourney and the dashing and charismatic antiques dealer Freddie springs to her rescue, she is led in a very different direction . . .Full of wit, life, and--against all odds--delicious food, Good Taste is a story of discovery and one woman's desire to make her own way as a modern woman.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Caroline ScottPublisher: William Morrow & CompanyPublished: 11/07/2023ISBN: 9780063325814Pages: 432Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2023

With delectable prose, a sharp heroine ahead of her time, and an adventure across the English countryside in search of great food, Good Taste is the perfect historical novel for fans of Dear Mrs. Bird and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

You can tell a lot about a person from what they like to eat...

England in 1932 is in the grip of the Great Depression. Stella Douglas, author of a much-loved but not very successful biography, is a bit depressed herself. When she's summoned to see her editor in London, she expects her writing career is over before it's even started.

But much to her surprise, she is being commissioned to write a history of English food. It's to be quintessentially English and intended to lift the sprits of the nation. There's just one problem: a lot of English food is actually quite terrible (and anything good is usually imported from elsewhere).

So Stella travels across England in hopes of discovering a hidden culinary gem. What she discovers is oatcakes and gravy and lots and lots of potatoes. But when her car breaks down midjourney and the dashing and charismatic antiques dealer Freddie springs to her rescue, she is led in a very different direction . . .

Full of wit, life, and--against all odds--delicious food, Good Taste is a story of discovery and one woman's desire to make her own way as a modern woman.



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Caroline Scott
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Published: 11/07/2023
ISBN: 9780063325814
Pages: 432

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2023

With delectable prose, a sharp heroine ahead of her time, and an adventure across the English countryside in search of great food, Good Taste is the perfect historical novel for fans of Dear Mrs. Bird and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

You can tell a lot about a person from what they like to eat...

England in 1932 is in the grip of the Great Depression. Stella Douglas, author of a much-loved but not very successful biography, is a bit depressed herself. When she's summoned to see her editor in London, she expects her writing career is over before it's even started.

But much to her surprise, she is being commissioned to write a history of English food. It's to be quintessentially English and intended to lift the sprits of the nation. There's just one problem: a lot of English food is actually quite terrible (and anything good is usually imported from elsewhere).

So Stella travels across England in hopes of discovering a hidden culinary gem. What she discovers is oatcakes and gravy and lots and lots of potatoes. But when her car breaks down midjourney and the dashing and charismatic antiques dealer Freddie springs to her rescue, she is led in a very different direction . . .

Full of wit, life, and--against all odds--delicious food, Good Taste is a story of discovery and one woman's desire to make her own way as a modern woman.



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Caroline Scott
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Published: 11/07/2023
ISBN: 9780063325814
Pages: 432

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/15/2023