How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form Thomas C. Foster

How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form

Author: Thomas C. Foster
$13.99 $22.99 1399
128 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
How to Read Novels Like a Professor: A Jaunty Exploration of the World's Favorite Literary Form
Author
Thomas C. Foster
ISBN
9780061340406
How to Read Novels Like a Professor is a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels, making reading more enriching and satisfying. In the follow up to his wildly popular How to Read Literature Like a Professor, Thomas C. Foster provides students with tried-and-true techniques to use in analyzing some of the most important works in literary history. How to Read Novels Like a Professor shows readers how to consider and a novel's historical fine points as well as major themes, literary models (the Bible, Shakespeare, Greek mythology, and fairy tales), and narrative devices like irony, plot, and symbol."By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive."-Thomas Lynch, author of The UndertakingBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Thomas C. FosterPublisher: Harper PerennialPublished: 07/01/2008ISBN: 9780061340406Pages: 312Weight: 0.55lbsSize: 7.90h x 5.20w x 0.80dReview Citations: Publishers Weekly 05/05/2008 pg. 56

How to Read Novels Like a Professor is a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels, making reading more enriching and satisfying. In the follow up to his wildly popular How to Read Literature Like a Professor, Thomas C. Foster provides students with tried-and-true techniques to use in analyzing some of the most important works in literary history. How to Read Novels Like a Professor shows readers how to consider and a novel's historical fine points as well as major themes, literary models (the Bible, Shakespeare, Greek mythology, and fairy tales), and narrative devices like irony, plot, and symbol.

"By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive."-Thomas Lynch, author of The Undertaking

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Thomas C. Foster
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 07/01/2008
ISBN: 9780061340406
Pages: 312
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.20w x 0.80d

Review Citations: Publishers Weekly 05/05/2008 pg. 56

How to Read Novels Like a Professor is a lively and entertaining guide to understanding and dissecting novels, making reading more enriching and satisfying. In the follow up to his wildly popular How to Read Literature Like a Professor, Thomas C. Foster provides students with tried-and-true techniques to use in analyzing some of the most important works in literary history. How to Read Novels Like a Professor shows readers how to consider and a novel's historical fine points as well as major themes, literary models (the Bible, Shakespeare, Greek mythology, and fairy tales), and narrative devices like irony, plot, and symbol.

"By bringing his eminent scholarship to bear in doses measured for the common reader or occasional student, Professor Foster has done us all a generous turn. The trained eye, the tuned ear, the intellect possesed of simple cyphers brings the literary arts alive."-Thomas Lynch, author of The Undertaking

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Thomas C. Foster
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 07/01/2008
ISBN: 9780061340406
Pages: 312
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 7.90h x 5.20w x 0.80d

Review Citations: Publishers Weekly 05/05/2008 pg. 56