Modoc: The True Story of the Greatest Elephant That Ever Lived Ralph Helfer

Modoc: The True Story of the Greatest Elephant That Ever Lived

Author: Ralph Helfer
$13.99 $22.99 1399
116 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Modoc: The True Story of the Greatest Elephant That Ever Lived
Author
Ralph Helfer
ISBN
9780060929510
A captivating true story of loyalty, friendship, and high adventure that spans several decades and three continents, Modoc is one of the most remarkable true stories ever told, perfect for fans of The Zookeeper's Wife or Water for Elephants. Raised together in a small German circus town, a boy and an elephant formed a bond that would last their entire lives, and would be tested time and again: through a near-fatal shipwreck in the Indian Ocean, an apprenticeship with the legendary Mahout elephant trainers in the Indian teak forests, and their eventual rise to circus stardom in 1940s New York City. As the African Sun-Times put it, Modoc is heartwarming...probably the greatest love story ever told.Once I started this incomparable story, I couldn't put it down, and I cannot get it out of my mind--nor will I ever. The message of what can be accomplished by training through affection and joy will thrill all animal lovers. -- Betty WhiteBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Ralph HelferPublisher: Harper PerennialPublished: 08/26/1998ISBN: 9780060929510Pages: 352Weight: 0.57lbsSize: 8.00h x 5.34w x 0.84d

A captivating true story of loyalty, friendship, and high adventure that spans several decades and three continents, Modoc is one of the most remarkable true stories ever told, perfect for fans of The Zookeeper's Wife or Water for Elephants.

Raised together in a small German circus town, a boy and an elephant formed a bond that would last their entire lives, and would be tested time and again: through a near-fatal shipwreck in the Indian Ocean, an apprenticeship with the legendary Mahout elephant trainers in the Indian teak forests, and their eventual rise to circus stardom in 1940s New York City. As the African Sun-Times put it, Modoc is heartwarming...probably the greatest love story ever told.

Once I started this incomparable story, I couldn't put it down, and I cannot get it out of my mind--nor will I ever. The message of what can be accomplished by training through affection and joy will thrill all animal lovers. -- Betty White



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Ralph Helfer
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 08/26/1998
ISBN: 9780060929510
Pages: 352
Weight: 0.57lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.34w x 0.84d

A captivating true story of loyalty, friendship, and high adventure that spans several decades and three continents, Modoc is one of the most remarkable true stories ever told, perfect for fans of The Zookeeper's Wife or Water for Elephants.

Raised together in a small German circus town, a boy and an elephant formed a bond that would last their entire lives, and would be tested time and again: through a near-fatal shipwreck in the Indian Ocean, an apprenticeship with the legendary Mahout elephant trainers in the Indian teak forests, and their eventual rise to circus stardom in 1940s New York City. As the African Sun-Times put it, Modoc is heartwarming...probably the greatest love story ever told.

Once I started this incomparable story, I couldn't put it down, and I cannot get it out of my mind--nor will I ever. The message of what can be accomplished by training through affection and joy will thrill all animal lovers. -- Betty White



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Ralph Helfer
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Published: 08/26/1998
ISBN: 9780060929510
Pages: 352
Weight: 0.57lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.34w x 0.84d