My Year of Meats Ruth Ozeki

My Year of Meats

Author: Ruth Ozeki
$19.99 $24.99 1999
67 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
My Year of Meats
Author
Ruth Ozeki
ISBN
9780140280463
A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love--the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being Ruth Ozeki's mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as "rare and provocative" and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair's The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Ruth OzekiPublisher: Penguin GroupPublished: 03/01/1999ISBN: 9780140280463Pages: 400Weight: 0.64lbsSize: 8.06h x 5.12w x 0.80dReview Citations: Mother Jones 11/01/2000 pg. 91
A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love--the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki's mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as "rare and provocative" and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair's The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Ruth Ozeki
Publisher: Penguin Group
Published: 03/01/1999
ISBN: 9780140280463
Pages: 400
Weight: 0.64lbs
Size: 8.06h x 5.12w x 0.80d

Review Citations: Mother Jones 11/01/2000 pg. 91
A cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love--the breakout hit by the celebrated author of A Tale for the Time Being

Ruth Ozeki's mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES. Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband. Hailed by USA Today as "rare and provocative" and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair's The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Ruth Ozeki
Publisher: Penguin Group
Published: 03/01/1999
ISBN: 9780140280463
Pages: 400
Weight: 0.64lbs
Size: 8.06h x 5.12w x 0.80d

Review Citations: Mother Jones 11/01/2000 pg. 91