Planet Earth Is Blue Nicole Panteleakos

Planet Earth Is Blue

Author: Nicole Panteleakos
$13.99 $17.91 1399
106 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Planet Earth Is Blue
Author
Nicole Panteleakos
ISBN
9780525646600
"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me A heartrending and hopeful story about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish. Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home. While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because as Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Nicole PanteleakosPublisher: Yearling BooksPublished: 05/05/2020ISBN: 9780525646600Pages: 240Weight: 0.40lbsSize: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70dAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 502901 / Planet Earth Is BlueReading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 7
"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful story about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home.

While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because as Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Nicole Panteleakos
Publisher: Yearling Books
Published: 05/05/2020
ISBN: 9780525646600
Pages: 240
Weight: 0.40lbs
Size: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 502901 / Planet Earth Is Blue
Reading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 7
"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful story about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home.

While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because as Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Nicole Panteleakos
Publisher: Yearling Books
Published: 05/05/2020
ISBN: 9780525646600
Pages: 240
Weight: 0.40lbs
Size: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70d
Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 502901 / Planet Earth Is Blue
Reading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 7