Queen of the Conquered Kacen Callender

Queen of the Conquered

Author: Kacen Callender
$14.99 $23.99 1499
172 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Queen of the Conquered
Author
Kacen Callender
ISBN
9780316454933
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 WORLD FANTASY AWARDAn captivating tale of colonialism, conquest and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for readers of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge. But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim.Praise for Queen of the Conquered "A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." --Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." --NPR Books"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." --Library JournalBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Kacen CallenderPublisher: OrbitPublished: 11/12/2019ISBN: 9780316454933Pages: 400Weight: 0.65lbsSize: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.20dReview Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2019 pg. 51Publishers Weekly 09/16/2019Library Journal 10/01/2019 pg. 72Booklist 11/01/2019 pg. 32
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 WORLD FANTASY AWARD
An captivating tale of colonialism, conquest and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for readers of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.
On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.
But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim.
Praise for Queen of the Conquered
"A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." --Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild
"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." --NPR Books
"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." --Library Journal


Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Published: 11/12/2019
ISBN: 9780316454933
Pages: 400
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.20d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2019 pg. 51
Publishers Weekly 09/16/2019
Library Journal 10/01/2019 pg. 72
Booklist 11/01/2019 pg. 32
SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2020 WORLD FANTASY AWARD
An captivating tale of colonialism, conquest and revenge, Queen of the Conquered starts a fantasy series perfect for readers of S. A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.
On the islands of Hans Lollik, Sigourney Rose was the only survivor when her family was massacred by the colonizers. When the childless king of the islands declares he will choose his successor from amongst eligible noble families, Sigourney is ready to exact her revenge.
But someone is killing off the ruling families to clear a path to the throne. And as the bodies pile up and all eyes regard her with suspicion, Sigourney must find allies among her prey and the murderer among her peers... lest she become the next victim.
Praise for Queen of the Conquered
"A storm of a novel as epic as Alexandre Dumas's The Count of Monte Cristo." --Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made Wild
"The book's absorbing setting, captivating lead, and relevant themes of race and class complement each other with alternating delicacy and savagery." --NPR Books
"Callender's first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end." --Library Journal


Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Kacen Callender
Publisher: Orbit
Published: 11/12/2019
ISBN: 9780316454933
Pages: 400
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.20d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2019 pg. 51
Publishers Weekly 09/16/2019
Library Journal 10/01/2019 pg. 72
Booklist 11/01/2019 pg. 32