Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution Ji-Li Jiang

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Author: Ji-Li Jiang
from
$18.99 $23.99 1899
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Available: 335 items In Stock
Book Title
Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution
Author
Ji-Li Jiang
ISBN
9780064462082
Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' ChoiceIn the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Ji-Li JiangPublisher: HarperCollinsPublished: 01/30/2018ISBN: 9780064462082Pages: 320Weight: 0.44lbsSize: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70dReview Citations: Booklist 09/15/1999 pg. 254Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 17835 / Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural RevolutionReading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8

Recently Viewed