Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution Ji-Li Jiang

Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Author: Ji-Li Jiang
$14.99 $19.19 1499
511 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution
Author
Ji-Li Jiang
ISBN
9780064462082
Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' ChoiceIn the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Ji-Li JiangPublisher: HarperCollinsPublished: 01/30/2018ISBN: 9780064462082Pages: 320Weight: 0.44lbsSize: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70dReview Citations: Booklist 09/15/1999 pg. 254Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 17835 / Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural RevolutionReading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Ji-Li Jiang
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 01/30/2018
ISBN: 9780064462082
Pages: 320
Weight: 0.44lbs
Size: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70d

Review Citations: Booklist 09/15/1999 pg. 254

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 17835 / Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution
Reading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution--and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.



Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Ji-Li Jiang
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 01/30/2018
ISBN: 9780064462082
Pages: 320
Weight: 0.44lbs
Size: 7.50h x 5.10w x 0.70d

Review Citations: Booklist 09/15/1999 pg. 254

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 17835 / Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution
Reading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 8