Roller Girl Victoria Jamieson

Roller Girl

Author: Victoria Jamieson
$28.99 $37.11 2899
53 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Roller Girl
Author
Victoria Jamieson
ISBN
9780525429678
The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school... in short, strong enough to be a roller girl. In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl powerBinding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Victoria JamiesonPublisher: Dial BooksPublished: 03/10/2015ISBN: 9780525429678Pages: 256Weight: 1.40lbsSize: 8.44h x 6.41w x 1.06dAward: Georgia Children's Book Award - FinalistAward: Newbery Medal - Honor BookAward: Cybils - FinalistReview Citations: Shelf Awareness 04/07/2015New York Times Book Review 05/10/2015 pg. 21PW Best Children's Books 11/02/2015 pg. 48NY Times Notable Bks of Year 12/06/2015 pg. 34Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 173345 / Roller GirlReading Level: 3.2 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 2
The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school... in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Dial Books
Published: 03/10/2015
ISBN: 9780525429678
Pages: 256
Weight: 1.40lbs
Size: 8.44h x 6.41w x 1.06d
Award: Georgia Children's Book Award - Finalist
Award: Newbery Medal - Honor Book
Award: Cybils - Finalist

Review Citations: Shelf Awareness 04/07/2015
New York Times Book Review 05/10/2015 pg. 21
PW Best Children's Books 11/02/2015 pg. 48
NY Times Notable Bks of Year 12/06/2015 pg. 34

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 173345 / Roller Girl
Reading Level: 3.2 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 2
The Newbery Honor Award Winner and New York Times bestseller Roller Girl is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby--perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid's life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high ) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school... in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Victoria Jamieson
Publisher: Dial Books
Published: 03/10/2015
ISBN: 9780525429678
Pages: 256
Weight: 1.40lbs
Size: 8.44h x 6.41w x 1.06d
Award: Georgia Children's Book Award - Finalist
Award: Newbery Medal - Honor Book
Award: Cybils - Finalist

Review Citations: Shelf Awareness 04/07/2015
New York Times Book Review 05/10/2015 pg. 21
PW Best Children's Books 11/02/2015 pg. 48
NY Times Notable Bks of Year 12/06/2015 pg. 34

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 173345 / Roller Girl
Reading Level: 3.2 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 2