Salt to the Sea Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the Sea

Author: Ruta Sepetys
$11.99 $27.99 1199
8 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Salt to the Sea
Author
Ruta Sepetys
ISBN
9780399160301
New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal "Masterfully crafted"--The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted... a] powerful work of historical fiction."--The Wall Street Journal ♦ " Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."--Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."--The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."--New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."--Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."--The Globe and Mail ♦ " H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."--Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."--Booklist ♦ *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."--School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year Praise for Between Shades of Gray A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post ♦ *" A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."--BooklistBinding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Ruta SepetysPublisher: Philomel BooksPublished: 02/02/2016ISBN: 9780399160301Pages: 400Weight: 1.10lbsSize: 8.40h x 5.50w x 1.50dReview Citations: Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2015Publishers Weekly 11/09/2015Booklist 12/01/2015 pg. 52School Library Journal 12/01/2015 pg. 128Library Journal 12/01/2015 pg. 97Voice of Youth Advocates 12/01/2015 - Recommended - Better Than MostHorn Book Magazine 01/01/2016 pg. 102Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 02/01/2016Shelf Awareness 02/05/2016Entertainment Weekly 02/12/2016 pg. 73New York Times Book Review 02/14/2016 pg. 22New York Times Book Review 02/21/2016 pg. 26School Library Journal 12/01/2016 pg. 38Shelf Awareness 12/13/2016Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 179545 / Salt to the SeaReading Level: 4.5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 10
New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal "Masterfully crafted"--The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea

Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted... a] powerful work of historical fiction."--The Wall Street Journal ♦ " Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."--Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."--The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."--New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."--Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."--The Globe and Mail " H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."--Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."--Booklist *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."--School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year

Praise for Between Shades of Gray
A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post ♦ *" A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."--Booklist

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Philomel Books
Published: 02/02/2016
ISBN: 9780399160301
Pages: 400
Weight: 1.10lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.50w x 1.50d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2015
Publishers Weekly 11/09/2015
Booklist 12/01/2015 pg. 52
School Library Journal 12/01/2015 pg. 128
Library Journal 12/01/2015 pg. 97
Voice of Youth Advocates 12/01/2015 - Recommended - Better Than Most
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2016 pg. 102
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 02/01/2016
Shelf Awareness 02/05/2016
Entertainment Weekly 02/12/2016 pg. 73
New York Times Book Review 02/14/2016 pg. 22
New York Times Book Review 02/21/2016 pg. 26
School Library Journal 12/01/2016 pg. 38
Shelf Awareness 12/13/2016

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 179545 / Salt to the Sea
Reading Level: 4.5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 10
New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal "Masterfully crafted"--The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea

Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted... a] powerful work of historical fiction."--The Wall Street Journal ♦ " Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."--Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."--The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."--New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."--Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."--The Globe and Mail " H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."--Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."--Booklist *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."--School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year

Praise for Between Shades of Gray
A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post ♦ *" A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."--Booklist

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Publisher: Philomel Books
Published: 02/02/2016
ISBN: 9780399160301
Pages: 400
Weight: 1.10lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.50w x 1.50d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 11/15/2015
Publishers Weekly 11/09/2015
Booklist 12/01/2015 pg. 52
School Library Journal 12/01/2015 pg. 128
Library Journal 12/01/2015 pg. 97
Voice of Youth Advocates 12/01/2015 - Recommended - Better Than Most
Horn Book Magazine 01/01/2016 pg. 102
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 02/01/2016
Shelf Awareness 02/05/2016
Entertainment Weekly 02/12/2016 pg. 73
New York Times Book Review 02/14/2016 pg. 22
New York Times Book Review 02/21/2016 pg. 26
School Library Journal 12/01/2016 pg. 38
Shelf Awareness 12/13/2016

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 179545 / Salt to the Sea
Reading Level: 4.5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 10