Saving Winslow Sharon Creech

Saving Winslow

Author: Sharon Creech
$22.99 2299
27 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Saving Winslow
Author
Sharon Creech
ISBN
9780062570703
Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings."This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)--School Library Journal (starred review)Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Sharon CreechPublisher: HarperCollinsPublished: 09/11/2018ISBN: 9780062570703Pages: 176Weight: 0.55lbsSize: 7.60h x 5.20w x 0.80dReview Citations: Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2018 pg. 78School Library Journal 07/01/2018 pg. 60Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2018 pg. 110Publishers Weekly 07/09/2018Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2018Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Outstanding, Noteworthy In StyleAccelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 196916 / Saving WinslowReading Level: 4.2 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 2

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)

--School Library Journal (starred review)

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Sharon Creech
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 09/11/2018
ISBN: 9780062570703
Pages: 176
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 7.60h x 5.20w x 0.80d

Review Citations: Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2018 pg. 78
School Library Journal 07/01/2018 pg. 60
Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2018 pg. 110
Publishers Weekly 07/09/2018
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2018
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Outstanding, Noteworthy In Style

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 196916 / Saving Winslow
Reading Level: 4.2 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 2

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner

"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)

Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far, far away in the army.

Everyone worries that Winslow won't survive, especially Louie's quirky new friend, Nora, who has experienced loss of her own. But as Louie's bond with Winslow grows, surprising and life-altering events prove that this fragile donkey is stronger than anyone could have imagined.

Written in the spirit of Creech favorites Moo and Love That Dog, this standout tale about love and friendship and letting go will tug at the heartstrings.

"This heartwarming story is sure to be a hit with fans of E. B. White's Charlotte's Web and Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie." --School Library Journal (starred review)

"Creech packs a tremendous amount of emotion between the lines of her understated prose. Animal lovers in particular will relish Louie's hard-won triumphs and find joy in Winslow's strength." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Woven into this narrative is a convincing portrayal of human growth and blossoming--the story is told simply but subtly, celebrating the unexpected strength of the vulnerable." --Horn Book (starred review)

--School Library Journal (starred review)

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Sharon Creech
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: 09/11/2018
ISBN: 9780062570703
Pages: 176
Weight: 0.55lbs
Size: 7.60h x 5.20w x 0.80d

Review Citations: Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2018 pg. 78
School Library Journal 07/01/2018 pg. 60
Kirkus Reviews 07/01/2018 pg. 110
Publishers Weekly 07/09/2018
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2018
Hornbook Guide to Children 01/01/2019 - Outstanding, Noteworthy In Style

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 196916 / Saving Winslow
Reading Level: 4.2 / Interest Level: Middle Grade / Point Value: 2