Spin the Dawn Elizabeth Lim

Spin the Dawn

Author: Elizabeth Lim
$15.99 $26.99 1599
45 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Spin the Dawn
Author
Elizabeth Lim
ISBN
9780525646990
Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars. Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Ren e Ahdieh. "Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment." --Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked "What an amazing creation Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter "Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from EverywhereBinding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Elizabeth LimPublisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young ReadersPublished: 07/09/2019ISBN: 9780525646990Pages: 416Weight: 1.20lbsSize: 8.40h x 5.70w x 1.50dReview Citations: Kirkus Reviews 05/15/2019School Library Journal 06/01/2019 pg. 80Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2019Booklist 06/01/2019 pg. 92Shelf Awareness 07/26/2019Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 505252 / Spin the DawnReading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 15
Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.
Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.
And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Ren e Ahdieh.

"Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment." --Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked

"What an amazing creation Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter

"Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Elizabeth Lim
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Published: 07/09/2019
ISBN: 9780525646990
Pages: 416
Weight: 1.20lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.70w x 1.50d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 05/15/2019
School Library Journal 06/01/2019 pg. 80
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2019
Booklist 06/01/2019 pg. 92
Shelf Awareness 07/26/2019

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 505252 / Spin the Dawn
Reading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 15
Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.
Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.
And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.
Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Ren e Ahdieh.

"Spin the Dawn is pure magic. Romance, artistry, and deep enchantment." --Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of Wicked

"What an amazing creation Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter

"Part epic adventure, part fairy tale, and part Project Runway, Spin the Dawn is a thrilling tale as rich as velvet and as exquisite as fine embroidery." --Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Elizabeth Lim
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Published: 07/09/2019
ISBN: 9780525646990
Pages: 416
Weight: 1.20lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.70w x 1.50d

Review Citations: Kirkus Reviews 05/15/2019
School Library Journal 06/01/2019 pg. 80
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 07/01/2019
Booklist 06/01/2019 pg. 92
Shelf Awareness 07/26/2019

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 505252 / Spin the Dawn
Reading Level: 5 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 15