The Black Flamingo Dean Atta

The Black Flamingo

Author: Dean Atta
$24.99 $31.99 2499
153 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
The Black Flamingo
Author
Dean Atta
ISBN
9780062990297
Stonewall Book Award Winner A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender. Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough. As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born. Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Dean AttaPublisher: Balzer & Bray/HarperteenPublished: 05/26/2020ISBN: 9780062990297Pages: 416Weight: 1.05lbsSize: 8.40h x 5.40w x 1.50dAward: Stonewall Book Award - WinnerReview Citations: School Library Journal 03/01/2020 pg. 114Kirkus Reviews 03/01/2020 pg. 160Booklist 04/01/2020 pg. 70

Stonewall Book Award Winner

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)



Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Published: 05/26/2020
ISBN: 9780062990297
Pages: 416
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.40w x 1.50d
Award: Stonewall Book Award - Winner

Review Citations: School Library Journal 03/01/2020 pg. 114
Kirkus Reviews 03/01/2020 pg. 160
Booklist 04/01/2020 pg. 70

Stonewall Book Award Winner

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican--but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs--and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are--and allow us to shine.

In this uplifting coming-of-age novel told in accessible verse, Atta chronicles the growth and glory of Michael Angeli, a mixed-race kid from London, as he navigates his cultural identity as Cypriot and Jamaican as well as his emerging sexuality. (Publishers Weekly, An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List)



Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Published: 05/26/2020
ISBN: 9780062990297
Pages: 416
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.40w x 1.50d
Award: Stonewall Book Award - Winner

Review Citations: School Library Journal 03/01/2020 pg. 114
Kirkus Reviews 03/01/2020 pg. 160
Booklist 04/01/2020 pg. 70