The Enchanted Rene Denfeld

The Enchanted

Author: Rene Denfeld
from
$10.99 1099
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Available: 312 items In Stock
Book Title
The Enchanted
Author
Rene Denfeld
ISBN
9780063036697
"The Enchanted wrapped its beautiful and terrible fingers around me from the first page and refused to let go after the last. A wondrous book that finds transcendence in the most unlikely of places. . . . So dark yet so exquisite." -- Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night CircusAn astonishing and redemptive novel for readers of Alice Sebold and Toni Morrison, told from the point of view of a convict whose magical interpretations of prison life allow him to find absolute joy while isolated from the rest of humanity and a female investigator who experiences her own personal salvation in her work as a death penalty investigator. This is an enchanted place. Others don't see it but I do. The enchanted place is a high security prison and is relayed through the eyes of an inmate on death row who escapes his surroundings by immersing himself in books, and by re-imagining the world that surrounds him. Instead of focusing on the cloudy medical vines that snake across the floor, empty and waiting for the warden's finger to press the red buttons, our narrator sees golden horses as they run deep under the earth, heat flowing like molten metal from their backs. A woman and fallen priest haunt the prison halls--an unnamed female investigator only known as the Lady who is known for discovering information relating to soon-to-be executed inmates' backgrounds that can be used to overturn their sentences. She is put on the case of a man named York and as she digs into his past, the experience brings up ghosts of her own and threatens to destroy everything that she has come to know about the enchanted place. The Enchanted is a magical novel about redemption, the humanity that can lie within what is monstrous, and the human capacity to transcend and survive.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Rene DenfeldPublisher: Harper PerennialPublished: 10/06/2020ISBN: 9780063036697Pages: 288Weight: 0.40lbsSize: 7.00h x 4.50w x 0.90d

Recently Viewed