The Eyre Affair Jasper Fforde

The Eyre Affair

Author: Jasper Fforde
$14.99 $23.99 1499
4 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
The Eyre Affair
Author
Jasper Fforde
ISBN
9780142001806
Jasper Fforde's beloved New York Times bestselling novel introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England--from the author of The Constant Rabbit Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it's a bibliophile's dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bront 's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy--enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel--unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Jasper FfordePublisher: Penguin BooksPublished: 02/25/2003ISBN: 9780142001806Pages: 400Weight: 0.58lbsSize: 7.70h x 5.10w x 0.72dReview Citations: Booksense '76 Mar/Apr 2003 03/01/2003 pg. 1New York Times 03/16/2003 pg. 28Asimov's Science Fiction 12/01/2004 pg. 136Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 69795 / Eyre AffairReading Level: 5.8 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 16
Jasper Fforde's beloved New York Times bestselling novel introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England--from the author of The Constant Rabbit

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it's a bibliophile's dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bront 's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy--enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel--unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Jasper Fforde
Publisher: Penguin Books
Published: 02/25/2003
ISBN: 9780142001806
Pages: 400
Weight: 0.58lbs
Size: 7.70h x 5.10w x 0.72d

Review Citations: Booksense '76 Mar/Apr 2003 03/01/2003 pg. 1
New York Times 03/16/2003 pg. 28
Asimov's Science Fiction 12/01/2004 pg. 136

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 69795 / Eyre Affair
Reading Level: 5.8 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 16
Jasper Fforde's beloved New York Times bestselling novel introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England--from the author of The Constant Rabbit

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it's a bibliophile's dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Bront 's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy--enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel--unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix.

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Jasper Fforde
Publisher: Penguin Books
Published: 02/25/2003
ISBN: 9780142001806
Pages: 400
Weight: 0.58lbs
Size: 7.70h x 5.10w x 0.72d

Review Citations: Booksense '76 Mar/Apr 2003 03/01/2003 pg. 1
New York Times 03/16/2003 pg. 28
Asimov's Science Fiction 12/01/2004 pg. 136

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 69795 / Eyre Affair
Reading Level: 5.8 / Interest Level: Upper Grade / Point Value: 16