The German Heiress Anika Scott

The German Heiress

Author: Anika Scott
$27.99 $35.83 2799
5 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
The German Heiress
Author
Anika Scott
ISBN
9780062978974
"Meticulously researched and plotted like a noir thriller, The German Heiress tells a different story of WWII-- of characters grappling with their own guilt and driven by the question of what they could have done to change the past." --Jessica Shattuck, New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the CastleFor readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.Clara Falkenberg, once Germany's most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname "the Iron Fr ulein" during World War II for her role operating her family's ironworks empire. It's been nearly two years since the war ended and she's left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family's past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa. Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who's hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other--if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war. Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn. --Publishers WeeklyBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Anika ScottPublisher: HarperLuxePublished: 04/07/2020ISBN: 9780062978974Pages: 496Weight: 1.00lbsSize: 9.00h x 6.00w x 1.40dLarge Print

"Meticulously researched and plotted like a noir thriller, The German Heiress tells a different story of WWII-- of characters grappling with their own guilt and driven by the question of what they could have done to change the past." --Jessica Shattuck, New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the Castle

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.

Clara Falkenberg, once Germany's most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname "the Iron Fr ulein" during World War II for her role operating her family's ironworks empire. It's been nearly two years since the war ended and she's left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family's past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa.

Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who's hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other--if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war.

Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

--Publishers Weekly

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Anika Scott
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Published: 04/07/2020
ISBN: 9780062978974
Pages: 496
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 9.00h x 6.00w x 1.40d
Large Print

"Meticulously researched and plotted like a noir thriller, The German Heiress tells a different story of WWII-- of characters grappling with their own guilt and driven by the question of what they could have done to change the past." --Jessica Shattuck, New York Times bestselling author of The Women in the Castle

For readers of The Alice Network and The Lost Girls of Paris, an immersive, heart-pounding debut about a German heiress on the run in post-World War II Germany.

Clara Falkenberg, once Germany's most eligible and lauded heiress, earned the nickname "the Iron Fr ulein" during World War II for her role operating her family's ironworks empire. It's been nearly two years since the war ended and she's left with nothing but a false identification card and a series of burning questions about her family's past. With nowhere else to run to, she decides to return home and take refuge with her dear friend, Elisa.

Narrowly escaping a near-disastrous interrogation by a British officer who's hell-bent on arresting her for war crimes, she arrives home to discover the city in ruins, and Elisa missing. As Clara begins tracking down Elisa, she encounters Jakob, a charismatic young man working on the black market, who, for his own reasons, is also searching for Elisa. Clara and Jakob soon discover how they might help each other--if only they can stay ahead of the officer determined to make Clara answer for her actions during the war.

Propulsive, meticulously researched, and action-fueled, The German Heiress is a mesmerizing page-turner that questions the meaning of justice and morality, deftly shining the spotlight on the often-overlooked perspective of Germans who were caught in the crossfire of the Nazi regime and had nowhere to turn.

--Publishers Weekly

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Anika Scott
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Published: 04/07/2020
ISBN: 9780062978974
Pages: 496
Weight: 1.00lbs
Size: 9.00h x 6.00w x 1.40d
Large Print