The Great Transition Nick Fuller Googins

The Great Transition

Author: Nick Fuller Googins
$27.99 2799
794 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
The Great Transition
Author
Nick Fuller Googins
ISBN
9781668010754
For fans of Station Eleven and The Ministry for the Future, this richly imaginative, immersive, and "profound" (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future. Emi Vargas, whose parents helped save the world, is tired of being told how lucky she is to have been born after the climate crisis. But following the public assassination of a dozen climate criminals, Emi's mother, Kristina, disappears as a possible suspect, and Emi's illusions of utopia are shattered. A determined Emi and her father, Larch, journey from their home in Nuuk, Greenland to New York City, now a lightly populated storm-surge outpost built from the ruins of the former metropolis. But they aren't the only ones looking for Kristina. Thirty years earlier, Larch first came to New York with a team of volunteers to save the city from rising waters and torrential storms. Kristina was on the frontlines of a different battle, fighting massive wildfires that ravaged the western United States. They became part of a movement that changed the world---The Great Transition--forging a new society and finding each other in process. Alternating between Emi's desperate search for her mother and a meticulously rendered, heart-stopping account of her parents' experiences during The Great Transition, this novel beautifully shows how our actions today determine our fate tomorrow. A triumphant debut, The Great Transition is a breathtaking rendering of our near future, told through the story of one family trying to protect each other and the place we all call home.Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Nick Fuller GooginsPublisher: Atria BooksPublished: 08/15/2023ISBN: 9781668010754Pages: 352Weight: 1.21lbsSize: 9.00h x 6.00w x 0.91dReview Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2023 pg. 6
For fans of Station Eleven and The Ministry for the Future, this richly imaginative, immersive, and "profound" (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future.

Emi Vargas, whose parents helped save the world, is tired of being told how lucky she is to have been born after the climate crisis. But following the public assassination of a dozen climate criminals, Emi's mother, Kristina, disappears as a possible suspect, and Emi's illusions of utopia are shattered. A determined Emi and her father, Larch, journey from their home in Nuuk, Greenland to New York City, now a lightly populated storm-surge outpost built from the ruins of the former metropolis. But they aren't the only ones looking for Kristina.

Thirty years earlier, Larch first came to New York with a team of volunteers to save the city from rising waters and torrential storms. Kristina was on the frontlines of a different battle, fighting massive wildfires that ravaged the western United States. They became part of a movement that changed the world---The Great Transition--forging a new society and finding each other in process.

Alternating between Emi's desperate search for her mother and a meticulously rendered, heart-stopping account of her parents' experiences during The Great Transition, this novel beautifully shows how our actions today determine our fate tomorrow. A triumphant debut, The Great Transition is a breathtaking rendering of our near future, told through the story of one family trying to protect each other and the place we all call home.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Nick Fuller Googins
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: 08/15/2023
ISBN: 9781668010754
Pages: 352
Weight: 1.21lbs
Size: 9.00h x 6.00w x 0.91d

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2023 pg. 6
For fans of Station Eleven and The Ministry for the Future, this richly imaginative, immersive, and "profound" (Alice Elliott Dark, author of Fellowship Point) novel is the electrifying story of a family in crisis that unfolds against the backdrop of our near future.

Emi Vargas, whose parents helped save the world, is tired of being told how lucky she is to have been born after the climate crisis. But following the public assassination of a dozen climate criminals, Emi's mother, Kristina, disappears as a possible suspect, and Emi's illusions of utopia are shattered. A determined Emi and her father, Larch, journey from their home in Nuuk, Greenland to New York City, now a lightly populated storm-surge outpost built from the ruins of the former metropolis. But they aren't the only ones looking for Kristina.

Thirty years earlier, Larch first came to New York with a team of volunteers to save the city from rising waters and torrential storms. Kristina was on the frontlines of a different battle, fighting massive wildfires that ravaged the western United States. They became part of a movement that changed the world---The Great Transition--forging a new society and finding each other in process.

Alternating between Emi's desperate search for her mother and a meticulously rendered, heart-stopping account of her parents' experiences during The Great Transition, this novel beautifully shows how our actions today determine our fate tomorrow. A triumphant debut, The Great Transition is a breathtaking rendering of our near future, told through the story of one family trying to protect each other and the place we all call home.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Nick Fuller Googins
Publisher: Atria Books
Published: 08/15/2023
ISBN: 9781668010754
Pages: 352
Weight: 1.21lbs
Size: 9.00h x 6.00w x 0.91d

Review Citations: Library Journal Prepub Alert 03/01/2023 pg. 6