The House of Deep Water Jeni McFarland

The House of Deep Water

Author: Jeni McFarland
$25.99 $32.49 2599
Out Stock
  • SKU: 9780525542353
Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
Book Title
The House of Deep Water
Author
Jeni McFarland
ISBN
9780525542353
Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, in this stunning and perceptive debut novel three women learn what it means to come home--and to make peace with the family, love affairs, and memories they'd once left behind. "Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching. . . . Reminiscent of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation." --Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can't imagine leaving, but three women couldn't wait to escape. When each must return--Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend's only black daughters, now a mother of two who'd planned to raise her own children anywhere else--their paths collide under Beth's father's roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past. Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Jeni McFarlandPublisher: G.P. Putnam's SonsPublished: 04/21/2020ISBN: 9780525542353Pages: 352Weight: 1.20lbsSize: 9.10h x 6.20w x 1.50dReview Citations: Publishers Weekly 12/02/2019Kirkus Reviews 02/15/2020Booklist 02/15/2020 pg. 27
Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, in this stunning and perceptive debut novel three women learn what it means to come home--and to make peace with the family, love affairs, and memories they'd once left behind.

"Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching. . . . Reminiscent of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation." --Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble

River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can't imagine leaving, but three women couldn't wait to escape. When each must return--Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend's only black daughters, now a mother of two who'd planned to raise her own children anywhere else--their paths collide under Beth's father's roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past.

Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Jeni McFarland
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Published: 04/21/2020
ISBN: 9780525542353
Pages: 352
Weight: 1.20lbs
Size: 9.10h x 6.20w x 1.50d

Review Citations: Publishers Weekly 12/02/2019
Kirkus Reviews 02/15/2020
Booklist 02/15/2020 pg. 27
Perfect for fans of The Mothers and Olive Kitteridge, in this stunning and perceptive debut novel three women learn what it means to come home--and to make peace with the family, love affairs, and memories they'd once left behind.

"Here are voices from the heartland rendered real, raw, and aching. . . . Reminiscent of Celeste Ng's Little Fires Everywhere, this novel announces Jeni McFarland as a writer of our generation." --Aja Gabel, author of The Ensemble

River Bend, Michigan, is the kind of small town most can't imagine leaving, but three women couldn't wait to escape. When each must return--Linda Williams, never sure what she wants; her mother, Paula, always too sure; and Beth DeWitt, one of River Bend's only black daughters, now a mother of two who'd planned to raise her own children anywhere else--their paths collide under Beth's father's roof. As one town struggles to contain all of their love affairs and secrets, a local scandal forces Beth to confront her own devastating past.

Filled with the voices of mothers and daughters, husbands, lovers, and fathers, The House of Deep Water explores motherhood, trauma, love, loss, and new beginnings found in a most unlikely place: home.

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Jeni McFarland
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Published: 04/21/2020
ISBN: 9780525542353
Pages: 352
Weight: 1.20lbs
Size: 9.10h x 6.20w x 1.50d

Review Citations: Publishers Weekly 12/02/2019
Kirkus Reviews 02/15/2020
Booklist 02/15/2020 pg. 27