Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How to Reverse It) Robert D. Lupton

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How to Reverse It)

Author: Robert D. Lupton
$14.99 $23.99 1499
76 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (and How to Reverse It)
Author
Robert D. Lupton
ISBN
9780062076212
Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help--not sabotage--those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs's The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns's The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle's Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.--Dr. Joel C. Hunter, Senior Pastor, Northland - A Church DistributedBinding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Robert D. LuptonPublisher: HarperOnePublished: 10/02/2012ISBN: 9780062076212Pages: 208Weight: 0.35lbsSize: 8.00h x 5.20w x 0.60d
Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help--not sabotage--those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs's The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns's The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle's Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.
--Dr. Joel C. Hunter, Senior Pastor, Northland - A Church Distributed

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Robert D. Lupton
Publisher: HarperOne
Published: 10/02/2012
ISBN: 9780062076212
Pages: 208
Weight: 0.35lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.20w x 0.60d
Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help--not sabotage--those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs's The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns's The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle's Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.
--Dr. Joel C. Hunter, Senior Pastor, Northland - A Church Distributed

Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Robert D. Lupton
Publisher: HarperOne
Published: 10/02/2012
ISBN: 9780062076212
Pages: 208
Weight: 0.35lbs
Size: 8.00h x 5.20w x 0.60d