Under a Painted Sky Stacey Lee

Under a Painted Sky

Author: Stacey Lee
$14.99 1499
Out Stock
Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
Book Title
Under a Painted Sky
Author
Stacey Lee
ISBN
9780399168031
From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity. "This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can't stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail. Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick An Amelia Bloomer Book Binding Type: HardcoverAuthor: Stacey LeePublisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young ReadersPublished: 03/17/2015ISBN: 9780399168031Pages: 384Weight: 1.05lbsSize: 8.30h x 5.80w x 1.30dReview Citations: School Library Journal 12/01/2014 pg. 137Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2014Publishers Weekly 01/26/2015Voice of Youth Advocates 02/01/2015 - Recommended - Hard To BeatBooklist 02/01/2015 pg. 44BookPage 04/01/2015Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2015 pg. 128 - Recommended, SatisfactoryPW Children's Starred Reviews 12/02/2015 pg. 115Kirkus Best Young-Adult Books 12/01/2015 pg. 60Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 177943 / Under a Painted SkyReading Level: 4.9 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 13
From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

"This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com

All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier.
But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can't stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail.

Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award
An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick
An Amelia Bloomer Book

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Stacey Lee
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Published: 03/17/2015
ISBN: 9780399168031
Pages: 384
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.80w x 1.30d

Review Citations: School Library Journal 12/01/2014 pg. 137
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2014
Publishers Weekly 01/26/2015
Voice of Youth Advocates 02/01/2015 - Recommended - Hard To Beat
Booklist 02/01/2015 pg. 44
BookPage 04/01/2015
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2015 pg. 128 - Recommended, Satisfactory
PW Children's Starred Reviews 12/02/2015 pg. 115
Kirkus Best Young-Adult Books 12/01/2015 pg. 60

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 177943 / Under a Painted Sky
Reading Level: 4.9 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 13
From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

"This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com

All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier.
But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can't stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail.

Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award
An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick
An Amelia Bloomer Book

Binding Type: Hardcover
Author: Stacey Lee
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Published: 03/17/2015
ISBN: 9780399168031
Pages: 384
Weight: 1.05lbs
Size: 8.30h x 5.80w x 1.30d

Review Citations: School Library Journal 12/01/2014 pg. 137
Kirkus Reviews 12/15/2014
Publishers Weekly 01/26/2015
Voice of Youth Advocates 02/01/2015 - Recommended - Hard To Beat
Booklist 02/01/2015 pg. 44
BookPage 04/01/2015
Hornbook Guide to Children 07/01/2015 pg. 128 - Recommended, Satisfactory
PW Children's Starred Reviews 12/02/2015 pg. 115
Kirkus Best Young-Adult Books 12/01/2015 pg. 60

Accelerated Reader Quiz #/Name: 177943 / Under a Painted Sky
Reading Level: 4.9 / Interest Level: Middle Grade Plus / Point Value: 13