Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire Jennifer Wright Knust

Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire

Author: Jennifer Wright Knust
$21.99 2199
70 items In Stock
  • Successful pre-order.Thanks for contacting us!
  • Order within
Book Title
Unprotected Texts: The Bible's Surprising Contradictions about Sex and Desire
Author
Jennifer Wright Knust
ISBN
9780061725395
"An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar." --Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus Boston University's cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible's contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman's Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong's Sins of Scripture, Knust's Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing--the fickle dos and don'ts--so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust's powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.Binding Type: PaperbackAuthor: Jennifer Wright KnustPublisher: HarperOnePublished: 02/07/2012ISBN: 9780061725395Pages: 352Weight: 1.01lbsSize: 9.13h x 5.95w x 0.94d
"An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar." --Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston University's cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible's contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman's Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong's Sins of Scripture, Knust's Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing--the fickle dos and don'ts--so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust's powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.


Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Jennifer Wright Knust
Publisher: HarperOne
Published: 02/07/2012
ISBN: 9780061725395
Pages: 352
Weight: 1.01lbs
Size: 9.13h x 5.95w x 0.94d
"An explosive, fascinating book that reveals how the Bible cannot be used as a rulebook when it comes to sex. A terrific read by a top scholar." --Bart Ehrman, author of Misquoting Jesus

Boston University's cutting-edge religion scholar Jennifer Wright Knust reveals the Bible's contradictory messages about sex in this thoughtful, riveting, and timely reexploration of the letter of the gospels. In the tradition of Bart Erhman's Jesus Interrupted and John Shelby Spong's Sins of Scripture, Knust's Unprotected Texts liberates us from the pervasive moralizing--the fickle dos and don'ts--so often dictated by religious demagogues. Knust's powerful reading offers a return to the scripture, away from the mere slogans to which it is so often reduced.


Binding Type: Paperback
Author: Jennifer Wright Knust
Publisher: HarperOne
Published: 02/07/2012
ISBN: 9780061725395
Pages: 352
Weight: 1.01lbs
Size: 9.13h x 5.95w x 0.94d